Navaratna The Nine Gemstones of Vedic Astrology

Navaratna: The Nine Gemstones of Vedic Astrology

The world of gemstones is divine, beautiful and diverse. Navaratna is a Sanskrit word which means Nine (Nava) and Gemstones (Ratna). In India, the significance is linked to culture and religion. According to Vedic astrology, every stone is believed to have astrological powers. The navaratnas represent the nine planets of our solar system and are said to bring enormous benefits to the person wearing them. 

Apart from India, navaratna gems are also popular across South Asian cultures including Nepal, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam and Malaysia. Wearing any stone in the form of a pendant or ring is said to bring positive energy and influence in a person’s life. However, before wearing any of the navaratnas, it is important to consult an astrologer as they will be able to guide you on the right gem for you according to your astrological chart. 

The Navaratna Gems & their Significance 

Now that you’re aware that a gemstone is worn according to the planetary position in one’s chart, let’s look at what the navaratnas signify:

  • Ruby

Ruby is a red-coloured stone that represents the sun. It is often referred to as the king of gems. It brings good health, success and prosperity to the wearer. It also symbolises power, longevity and spirituality. Ruby is associated with the star sign Leo. According to Burmese folklore, warriors implanted rubies into their skin before going on the battlefield. 

  • Pearl

Pearls represent the moon. They symbolise purity, peace, harmony and innocence. Those who wear pearls on a regular basis are said to have the moon’s influence and energy on them. As per Hindu Mythology, the moon is personified as the Chandra deity whose nature is said to be gentle and calm. The moon also represents emotion and intuition. In any challenging situation, pearl stones enhance emotional stability and intelligence. 

  • Red Coral

Red Coral also referred to as Moonga is associated with the planet Mars, which is considered a masculine planet in the celestial kingdom. Owing to its vibrant red hue, it symbolises action, assertiveness, vitality, energy, strength and passion. According to astrologers, coral represents “Magalya Balam”. It is believed to increase the longevity of marriages. Vedics recommend that those with mangal dosh in their horoscope should wear red coral gemstone in their middle finger. 

  • Emerald

Of all the nine planets, mercury is considered the most neutral. Emerald is associated with mercury which is also believed to be the planet of intellect and communication. Emerald is a beautiful gemstone that comes in various shades of green. It is associated with Gemini and Virgo. Anybody who wants to increase their concentration, mental alertness, and adaptability should consider wearing an emerald stone as a ring or pendant. 

  • Yellow Sapphire

Ruled by planet Jupiter, Yellow Sapphire has been known to represent power and grace. It is also believed to represent abundance, wisdom and knowledge. Those who want to balance the energies in their mind and body are often seen wearing yellow sapphire which is also known as Pukhraj. As per Hindu mythology, Jupiter is personified as deity Brihaspati who was regarded as a wise and learned figure. More than men, women wear yellow sapphire. 

  • Diamond

Diamond is the most precious of all gemstones that needs no introduction. It is ruled by Venus, the feminine planet. It is revered as a symbol of love and beauty. It is often associated with grace, charm, love and wealth. For this reason, couples exchange diamonds when they make their alliance official. Though diamonds are worn by people of all star signs, those who belong to Taurus and Libra are believed to reap maximum benefits. 

  • Blue Sapphire

Blue Sapphire or Neelam is associated with the planet Saturn. As per Vedic astrology, blue sapphire can increase one’s Saturn influence. It is regarded as one of the strongest Navaratnas. Thus, before wearing it always seek the guidance of a reputed and well-read astrologer. People going through their ‘shani sade sati’ period wear this stone to increase their mental clarity, discipline and spiritual growth. 

  • Hessonite

Hessonite is a navaratna governed by Rahu. It isn’t a planet but actually one of the nodes of the moon. It is also referred to as a Gomed. Astrologers recommend to those who want to protect themselves from the evil eye and negative influences. It also enhances focus and concentration. Since Hessonite Garnet is believed to stimulate the third-eye chakra, it lowers anxiety and depression levels in a person. 

  • Cat’s Eye 

The last but supremely powerful navaratna is the cat’s eye associated with Ketu. Just like Rahu, it is another lunar node. It is said to provide clarity of thought and encourage spiritual awakening. People who wear a cat’s eye on their finger on a daily basis swear by its benefits. For example, they find a better intuition and creative energy. It is not just a cherished gemstone but an expensive one too. 


The Navaratna stones and their profound symbolism has made them extremely popular. Navaratna jewellery usually includes earrings, pendants, rings, chokers and bracelets. Before wearing any of the above navaratnas, consult your vedic astrologer. 

Gemstones are an interesting and intriguing subject. For this reason, a lot of enthusiasts and aspiring jewellers take up a certificate course in gemmology. The course teaches them not just how to identify, grade and categorise gemstones but also learn the chemical and physical properties of gems and gem-like materials.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Carat in Diamond A Complete Guide

Carat in Diamond A Complete Guide

Carat in Diamond: A Complete Guide Diamonds are a girl’s best friend. Who wouldn’t mind a beautiful diamond ring, necklace or earrings? They’re so versatile

pexels engin akyurt

All about Emerald Stones

“An Emerald shines even if it’s worth is not spoken of” – Marcus Aurelius. Diamonds may be a girl’s best friend but did you know,